Kids Say the Funniest Things: Part 3

Hello Everyone! I am back from spring break and some much needed time with my family – and of course the little ones. I got to spend some quality time with my niece, Abby, and my nephews, Teagan and Gavin. This weeks story is about my niece, Abby.

Image

My nephew, Gavin, is turning 15 on March 17th. So, Abby got her big brother a present for his birthday and couldn’t wait to give it to him. My sister let her give him his present a little early – it was a willow tree angel statue with a big brother and a little sister – (so sweet!) and Gavin told Abby thank you after opening it. My sister asked Abby to give her brother a hug, and she responded, very sternly, “I don’t have time,” and walked off into the other room. I couldn’t help but laugh, because what prior obligations did my three year old niece have that we didn’t know about? Obviously, she had to tend to something very important if she couldn’t even give her brother a hug. She went into the living room to cut up some paper on the floor, so I guess that was really important – for the sake of art.

Later in the week, Abby and I were enjoying some cheese balls at her Lego table, while she made the dog some treats (a.k.a. cut up cardboard into the shape of dog treats). I asked her if she needed a napkin, because her fingers were all cheesy. Her response: “No, you just have to lick them off and wipe them off here,” as she wiped her cheesy fingers on her pants. Great advice – who needs a napkin when you have your pants? – save the trees.

Some other highlights from my trip home: Buying the nieces and nephews new outfits, listening to Abby make up songs and sing about everything (literally everything), taking Abby and Teagan to Chuck E. Cheese, having Teagan make me ‘eggies’, creating outfits for Barbie with Abby, creating sticker masterpieces with Teagan and Abby, and Teagan discovering how the camera on the front of my Iphone works and making a video for Aunt Jackie and Ireland.

Leave a Reply

